Faculty from over 20 different Calvin departments teach courses covering subject area content and content pedagogy knowledge.

Meet the Education Department Faculty and Staff.

Unit Faculty

Program faculty are well-known for their teaching skills, leadership, research, and community involvement. Several successful grants have enabled our faculty to provide professional development to local teachers in the areas of mathematics, literacy, and science.

Education Program faculty also supervise field experiences and student teaching assignments in local Christian, public, and charter schools.

Faculty Member
Pedagogy Courses
Contact Information
Amuzie, Grace IDIS 301 el33@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6645
Bakker, Deb KIN 204, 223, EDUC 346 dbakker@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6222
Bergsma, Jerry  KIN 305, 306, 359, EDUC 346 jbergsma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7026
Bergwerff, Ken 
SCES 121, 122, 312, 313, EDUC 345 
kbergwer@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6371
Bobeldyk, Rob EDUC 102 rbobeldy@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6837
Boerema, Al EDUC 302, 303 ajb37@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6036
Bronson, Melissa EDUC 330L, 347 
mbrons27@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6201
Bruxvoort, Crystal 
SCES 122, 214, 314, 359, EDUC 346 cb29@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6019
Buursma, Debra 
EDUC 202, 345 dbuursma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6231
DeVries, Rick EDUC 102, 305, 345 redevrie@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7707
Genzink, Jane MATH 323, EDUC 102, 345 jeg3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6205
Greidanus, Nancy EDUC 345 njg2@calvin.edu
(616) 243-6901
Hash, Phillip 
EDUC 210, 346, MUSC 239, 339, 359 pmh3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6022
Hettinga, Donald ENGL 340, 341 hett@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6520
Hulderman, Cassie PER 150 clv7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6176
Jadrich, Jim 
SCES 121, 122, 214, 313, PHYS 212
jjadrich@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6409
Johnson, Kristine 
ENGL 350, 372, 375
kjohns14@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7828
Joldersma, Clarence IDIS 205, EDUC 398 cjolders@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6596
Jung, Hyunyi MATH 221, 323 hj39@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6349
Keeley, Bob EDUC 302, 303, 309 rkeeley@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6816
Knoester, Pat CAS 214 pknoes87@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6290
Koop, Jan 
MATH 221, 323 
kooj@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6427
Kuyvenhoven, Jo 
EDUC 326, CAS 214 jck8@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7629
Lee, Youngkhill 
KIN 215 yl33@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6030
Leo, Sara
EDUC 303 sld9@calvin.edu
Mulder, Sara 
EDUC 346 sjm33@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7830
Pyper, Marcie 
EDUC 346, IDIS 356, 359 mpyper@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6356
Rodriguez, Maria IDIS 301 mrodrigu@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8641
Rooks, Jim EDUC 102, 345 jrooks@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8694
Saupe, Karen 
EDUC 346, ENGL 352, 359 ksaupe@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6467
Schmidt, Gary 
ENGL 340, 352 schg@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6540
Schoone-Jongen, Bob  EDUC 346, IDIS 359, 375
rps2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6395
Sevensma, Kara EDUC 202 kcs4@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6597
Sjoerdsma, Ron EDUC 302, 303, 345 sjoero@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6213
Smith, David  IDIS 357 dsmith@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8609
Steenstra, Timothy  EDUC 202 tjs32@calvin.edu
(616) 723-2214
Stegink, Philip EDUC 306, 310, 312, 330, 347 pstegink@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6237
Talsma, Gary 
MATH 221, 222, 329, 359, EDUC 346
tals@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6422
Terpstra, Marj EDUC 302, 303 mat7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6190
VandenBosch, Jim 
ENGL 372, 375, EDUC 346
vand@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6592
VanReeuwyk, Jo-Ann
ARTE 315, 316, 359, EDUC 210, 346
jpv2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6331
Verwys, Susan EDUC 236, 238, 335, 337, 339, 343, 345 skv5@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6509
Voetberg, Marji EDUC 330L, 343, 347 mvoetb87@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8572
Walcott, John EDUC 102, 302, 303, IDIS 205 jrw7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6032
Ward, Dean ENGL 350 ward@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6139
Westbrook, Nalova EDUC 307, 322 new2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6028
Wilkins, Susan EDUC 102, 345 swilkins@calvin.edu