Faculty from over 20 different Calvin departments teach courses covering subject area content and content pedagogy knowledge.

Meet the Education Department Faculty and Staff.

Unit Faculty

Program faculty are well-known for their teaching skills, leadership, research, and community involvement. Several successful grants have enabled our faculty to provide professional development to local teachers in the areas of mathematics, literacy, and science.

Education Program faculty also supervise field experiences and student teaching assignments in local Christian, public, and charter schools.

Faculty Member Pedagogy Courses Contact Information
Bakker, Deb KIN 204, 223 dbakker@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6222
Bergsma, Jerry  KIN 305, 359, EDUC 346 jbergsma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7026
Bergwerff, Ken  SCES 121, 122  kbergwer@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6371
Boerema, Al EDUC 302, 303 ajb37@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6036
Bruxvoort, Crystal  SCES 214, 314  EDUC 346, 359 cb29@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6019
Bowman, Sarah  EDUC 346, MUSC 239, 359 slb45@calvin.edu 
(616)-526-6257
Ceballos, Abraham  IDIS 301, 356 ac32@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7717
Buursma, Debra  EDUC 202 dbuursma@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6231
Cunningham, Dana ENGL 372, 375 dac25@calvin.edu
(616)-526-6468
Genzink, Jane MATH 323, EDUC 345 jeg3@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6205
Hettinga, Donald ENGL 340 hett@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6520
Jadrich, Jim  SCES 313 PHYS 212 jjadrich@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6409
Johnson, Kristine  ENGL 350 kjohns14@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7828
Joldersma, Clarence IDIS 205, EDUC 398 cjolders@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6596
Klanderman, David EDUC 346, MATH 221, 359 dbk6@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6349
Keeley, Bob EDUC 309 rkeeley@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6816
Lee, Youngkhill  KIN 215 yl33@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6030
Leo, Sara  EDUC 302, 303 sld9@calvin.edu
Miller, Katherine ENGL 352 klm53@calvin.edu
Posthumus, Ruth   EDUC 345 rp35@calvin.edu
Pool, Kathleen EDUC 210 kjp@calvin.edu
Rooks, Jim EDUC 345 jrooks@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8694
Rysdam, Jen EDUC 345 jar26@calvin.edu
Saupe, Karen  EDUC 346, ENGL 359 ksaupe@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6467
Smith, David  EDUC 302,303 IDIS 357 dsmith@calvin.edu
(616) 526-8609
Strater, Kate EDUC 310, 312, 347 KS84@calvin.edu 
(616) 526-6214
Terpstra, Marj EDUC 102, 302, 303 mat7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6190
Vander Well, Cassandra  PER 150 vclv7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-7049
VanReeuwyk, Jo-Ann ARTE 315, 316, 359, EDUC 210, 346 jpv2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6331
Visser, Deborah  ENGL 340, 341 djv46@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6933
Walcott, John EDUC 102, 307 IDIS 205 jrw7@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6032
Westbrook, Nalova EDUC 302, 303, 322 new2@calvin.edu
(616) 526-6028
Wilkins, Susan EDUC 102, 345 swilkins@calvin.edu