Find deadlines for adding and dropping classes, dates for advising and reading recess, school breaks and the start and end dates of terms.

Quick links

2021–2022 Academic Year

 

2021 Fall Semester | 2022 Spring Semester | 2022 Summer Semester

Filter: show or hide columns

2021 Fall Semester

Events 16–week Undergrad Semester 8–week Sessions 4–week Intensives Key dates for faculty and staff
New Faculty Orientation       August 17–18
Move-in Day for
international students
August 22, Sunday      
Fall Conference for faculty and staff       August 23, Monday
Move-in Day for
first year and transfer students
August 25, Wednesday      
Orientation and registration begin August 25, Wednesday      
Opening Convocation August 26, Thursday August 26, Thursday August 26, Thursday August 26, Thursday
Residence halls and KE
open for returning students
August 27, Friday      
Fall Semester begins August 30, Monday     August 30, Monday
Fall Session 1 begins   August 30, Monday   August 30, Monday
September Intensive (Fall A) begins     August 30, Monday August 30, Monday
Labor Day—no class September 6, Monday     September 6, Monday
Add/Drop course deadline
Refund policy
Add: September 7, Tuesday
Drop: November 5, Friday
Add: September 7, Tuesday
Drop: October, 1, Friday
   
September Intensive (Fall A) ends     September 25, Saturday*  
October Intensive (Fall B) begins     September 27, Monday  
Fall Break—no class October 11–12     October 11–12
Faculty Assembly       TBD
Mid-term grades due       October 15, Friday
Fall Session 1 ends   October 23, Saturday*    
October Intensive (Fall B) ends     October 23, Saturday*  
Fall Session 2 begins   October 25, Monday    
November Intensive (Fall C) begins     October 25, Monday  
Add/Drop course deadline
Refund policy
  Add: November 1, Monday
Drop: November 29, Monday
   
Advising Days—no class November 2–3     November 2–3
November Intensive (Fall C) ends     November 20, Saturday*  
December Intensive (Fall D) begins     November 22, Monday  
Thanksgiving break—no class November 24–26     November 24–26
Fall semester last day of class December 8, Wednesday      
Study Day December 9, Thursday      
Exams December 10–16     December 10–16
Fall Session 2 ends   December 18, Saturday*    
December Intensive (Fall D) ends     December 18, Saturday*  
Fall semester grades due       December 23, Thursday
Christmas Break December 16–January 9 December 20–January 9 December 20–January 9 December 24–January 2

2022 Spring Semester

Events 16–week Undergrad Semester 8–week Sessions 4–week Intensives Key dates for faculty and staff
Residence halls reopen        
Transfer student orientation        
Spring Semester begins January 10, Monday     January 10, Monday
Spring Session 1 begins   January 10, Monday   January 10, Monday
January Intensive (Spring A) begins     January 10, Monday January 10, Monday
Add/Drop course deadline
Refund policy
Add: January 17, Monday
Drop: March 18
Add: January 17, Monday
Drop: February 11, Friday
   
January Intensive (Spring A) ends     February 5, Saturday*  
February Intensive (Spring B) begins     February 7, Monday  
Spring Break February 28–March 4     February 28–March 4
Spring Session 1 ends
  March 5, Saturday*    
February Intensive (Spring B) ends     March 5, Saturday*  
Spring Session 2 begins
  March 7, Monday    
March Intensive (Spring C) begins     March 7, Monday  
Add/Drop course deadline
Refund policy
  Add: March 14, Monday
Drop: April 8, Friday
   
Advising Days – no class March 22–23     March 22–23
March Intensive (Spring C) ends     April 2, Saturday*  
April Intensive (Spring D) begins     April 4, Monday  
Good Friday & Easter Monday—no classes April 15–18     April 15–18
Thursday with Friday schedule April 21, Thursday      
Spring semester last day of class April 21, Thursday      
Study Day April 22, Friday      
Exams April 22–28     April 22–28
Spring Session 2 ends
  April 30, Saturday*    
April Intensive (Fall D) ends     April 30, Saturday*  
Commencement April 30, Saturday April 30, Saturday April 30, Saturday April 30, Saturday
Spring semester grades due       May 6, Friday

2022 Summer Semester

Events 16–week Undergrad Semester 8–week Sessions 4–week Intensives Key dates for faculty and staff
Move-in Day        
Transfer student orientation        
Summer Semester begins May 4, Wednesday     May 4, Wednesday
Summer Session 1 begins   May 4, Wednesday   May 4, Wednesday
May Intensive (Summer A) begins     May 4, Wednesday May 4, Wednesday
Add/Drop course deadline
Refund policy
Add: May 11, Wednesday
Drop: July 8, Friday
Add: May 11, Wednesday
Drop: June 3, Friday
   
May Intensive (Summer A) ends     May 25, Wednesday*  
Memorial Day break – no class May 26–30     May 26–30
June Intensive (Summer B) begins     May 31, Tuesday  
Advising Day – no class June 15, Wednesday     June 15, Wednesday
Summer Session 1 ends
  June 25, Saturday*    
June Intensive (Summer B) ends     June 25, Saturday*  
Summer Session 2 begins   June 27, Monday    
July Intensive (Summer C) begins     June 27, Monday  
Independence Day break – no class July 1–5     July 1–5
Add/Drop course deadline
Refund policy
  Add: July 7, Thursday
Drop: July 29, Friday
   
July Intensive (Summer C) ends     July 23, Saturday*  
August Intensive (Summer D) begins     July 25, Monday  
Wednesday with Friday schedule August 10, Wednesday     August 10, Wednesday
Summer semester last day of class August 10, Wednesday      
Study Day August 11, Thursday      
Exams August 12–17     August 12–17
Summer Session 2 ends   August 20, Saturday*    
August Intensive (Summer D) ends     August 20, Saturday*  
Summer semester grades due       August 24, Wednesday

*Calvin offers both face-to-face and online courses in the 8-week and 4-week format. Some courses meet at assigned times, while others are asynchronous. Break days are not specified for these courses; the professor may vary the intensity of class assignments as best fits the subject matter. Cumulative assignments/exams are part of the class and are typically due/administered on the penultimate or final day of class.

All dates are subject to change as necessary; last updated July 19, 2021.