Attend weekly seminars with physics faculty and students to learn what's hot in physics beyond the classroom.

Enjoy snacks before the seminar or Physics 195/295 class at 3:30 pm in SB157
DateTitle (Topic)Speaker
Tuesday, September 12 Snacks at 3:30pm in SB 157
Phys 195/295 class meets at 3:45pm
Tuesday, September 19 Sharing the 2017 solar eclipse (and preparing for 2024) Several faculty, students, alumni and emeriti

Tuesday, September 26

NOTE: time and place: 3:30pm in the Commons Lecture Hall 

No snack time in SB157 preceding the seminar

Human-induced earthquakes and land subsidence related to gas extraction in the province of Groningen

Sponsored by GEO and Engineering departments

Dr. Erik Meijles, Physical Geographer and Lecturer at the University of Groningen, the Netherlands

Friday, September 29

NOTE time and place:  3:30 pm in SB110

No snack time in SB157 preceding the seminar 

Observing a Star:  Our Changing Sun

Dr. J. Todd Hoeksema, Senior Research Scientist W. H. Hansen Experimental Physics Lab, Stanford University

2017 Calvin Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

Tuesday, October 3 No Phys 195/295 class (due to previous Friday seminar) We will have snacks as usual at 3:30 pm in SB157.
Tuesday, October 10 Distinguishing Stellar Populations in Globular Star Clusters:  Procedure Validation

Dr. Jason Smolinski and student Alex VanKooten, Calvin College

Tuesday, October 17 Molecular Volumes in Lipid Bilayers and the Biophysics of Lipids in the Lungs

Dr. Paul Harper and student Brian Seper, Calvin College

Tuesday, October 24 No Phys 195/295 class or snacks (Advising Recess)
Tuesday, October 31 What do we know about why binary stars merge?

Dr. Larry Molnar and students Evan Cook and Kenton Greene, Calvin College

Tuesday, November 7 Snacks at 3:30pm in SB 157
Phys 195/295 class meets at 3:45pm
Tuesday, November 14 Snacks at 3:30pm in SB 157
Phys 195/295 class meets at 3:45pm
Tuesday, November 21 Snacks at 3:30pm in SB 157
Phys 195/295 class meets at 3:45pm
Tuesday, November 28 TBA

Dr. Joshua Veazey, Grand Valley State University

Tuesday, December 5 Snacks at 3:30pm in SB 157
Phys 195/295 class meets at 3:45pm