2023 Recipient

Congratulations to Crystal Bruxvoort (chemistry and biochemistry), the recipient of the Innovative Teaching Award!

Purpose of the Award

Education research over the past few decades has provided deeper insights into the nature and modes of student learning. The Innovative Teaching Award recognizes and encourages faculty members who have contributed significant, creative teaching innovations and strategies that promote effective and deeper learning.


Any full-time or reduced-load member of the teaching faculty may be nominated for this award.

Selection Criteria

In a community of learning, good teachers often learn from other teachers—from teaching mentors and from fellow teachers who reflect on and continually seek teaching strategies that promote deeper and more engaged learning. Award recipients will be selected based on the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated commitment to teaching students effectively.
  • Development of one or more effective, innovative teaching strategies that promote learning.
  • Exceptional teaching skills that are evidenced in the testimony and lives of both current and former students.

Process for Selection

The provost will solicit letters of nomination from individuals, department chairs, and the faculty fellows. The academic deans will review faculty activities reports and state of the department reports and, based on their review, may make their own nominations. In consultation together and with the provost, the academic deans will decide on up to three nominees to present to the Professional Status Committee. There is no restriction regarding how many nominees may come from a single department or division. The Professional Status Committee will select the award recipient.

Past Recipients