Originally called the “Stob Lectureship”, the Stob Lecture Series was signed into being in 1985 as a collaboration between Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary. The annual Stob Lectureship was designed to bring to the campus in either the fall or spring semester of each year an established or promising scholar for the delivery of two “Stob Lectures” to a campus audience consisting of professors, students and other interested persons. The chosen lecturer would have a notable academic reputation in the fields of philosophy, ethics, and/or theology; resonate with the Reformed and Christian perspectives embodied by the life and work of Dr. Henry Stob; and have the ability to communicate effectively to a general audience.

In 2017, the annual Stob Lecture was incorporated for the first time within the lineup of speakers of the January Series of Calvin College. Instead of two public lectures, there would now be one public lecture suitable for a general audience of undergraduates, seminaries, Calvin alumni and friends, community members and other educated citizenry and one internal, non-public evening colloquium hosted by select faculty of Calvin Theological Seminary and Calvin College’s Philosophy Departments and would include invited students of these professors. Historically, the lectures are, though not necessarily, in the fields of ethics, apologetics, and philosophical theology.

Read more about the Stob Lectures on the Stob Family website

Or read about the Stob Lecturers from 1986 to 1998 in the book Seeking Understanding: The Stob Lectures, 1986-1998

Past Speakers: 

2021: Jemar Tisby
2020: Najla Kassab
2019: Willie Jennings
2018: John Swinton
2017: N.T. Wright
2016: none
2015: Sarah Coakley
2014: Jeremy Begbie
2013: Cornelius Plantinga, Jr.
2012: Lamin Sanneh
2011: Jon Witte, Jr.
2010: Rebecca Konyndyk DeYoung
2009: David C. Steinmetz
2008: none
2007: Marianne Thompson
2006: Alan Jacobs
2005: Ellen T. Charry
2004: William Lane Craig
2003: Mary Stewart Van Leeuwen
2002: Miroslav Volf
2001: Oliver O'Donovan
2000: Richard J. Mouw
1999: John E. Hare
1998: Eleanor Stump
1997: J. Harold Ellens
1996: Arthur F. Holmes
1995: George J. Mavrodes
1994: John Feikens
1993: Dewey J. Hoitenga, Jr. 
1992: Nicholas P. Wolterstorff
1991: Allen D. Verhey
1990: Martin E. Marty
1989: Alvin Plantinga
1988: Peter Kreeft
1987: James M. Guftafson
1986: Lewis B. Smedes