Academic scholarships are renewable based on your cumulative Calvin GPA. If you had significant and extenuating circumstances that affected your academic performance, you may send an appeal and supportive documents to Financial Aid at Scholarship appeals will be accepted until July 8, and if granted, scholarships will be reinstated in the following academic year. Appeal decisions are made in July.

Renewal policy for students with start terms from Fall 2019 and after

Scholarship awarding and renewal criteria for students that started in Fall 2019 and after.

National Merit Scholarship

Calvin sponsored National Merit Scholarships are awarded to students selected as National Merit Finalists by the National Merit Corporation who select Calvin as their first choice college.

  • Availability: 4 years
  • Renewal Criteria: Recipient is making satisfactory academic progress
  • National Merit Finalists that require a fifth year of study will be eligible for the Trustee's Scholarship as long as they have a cumulative Calvin GPA of 3.0.
  • National Merit Corporation
  • Telephone: (847) 866-5100
  • Web:
  • Fax: (847) 866-5113
  • Letter: National Merit Corporation, 1560 Sherman Avenue, Suite 200, Evanston, IL 60201-4897

Trustee's, President's, Provost's, Dean's, and Faculty's

Scholarships are guaranteed through your sophomore year and are renewable for up to three additional undergraduate years with a cumulative Calvin GPA of 3.0 measured after the fourth semester.