The Calvin Alumni Association consists of all those who have attended Calvin College for at least one year or more. Currently, there are 60,000 members worldwide. The association is governed by 21 alumni board members who serve three-year, non-renewable terms and see to the mission of the organization—to connect, strengthen and inspire.


The Calvin Alumni Association connects alumni, strengthens the college, and inspires alumni to answer God’s call.


An active, engaged network of Calvin students, alumni and friends who:

  • Help each other through lifelong connections
  • Support the college
  • Inspire each other to be agents of renewal

Bylaws and constitution

See our separate bylaws and constitution pages for more information.

2016–2017 board members

The Calvin Alumni Association is governed by alumni from all over the world who meet on campus three times a year to represent alumni to college offices and to develop services for alumni. You are invited to contact the entire board or the representative of your choice with ideas or questions by sending an email to; we’ll make sure the message is received. You can also find contact information for individual alumni in uKnight.

Dare Odumosu ’05, president
Philadelphia, Penn.
Senior Manager
Iroko Pharmaceuticals LLC

Sierra Yazzie Asamoa-Tutu ’06, president-elect
Saint Paul, Minn.
Social Work Therapist
American Indian Family Center

Cheryl Hubers TenBrink ’81, secretary
Kalamazoo, Mich.
Customer Service Representative
Boot Haan Insurance Agency

Michael Van Denend ’78, ex officio
Executive Director
Calvin Alumni Association

Bruce Buursma ’73
Grand Haven, Mich.
Managing Director
Bruce Buursma Communications

Laura Ostrander Caprara ’92
Grand Rapids, Mich.
Social Media Strategist
Stellafly Social Media LLC

Twana Graves Davis ’93
Katy, Tex.
The Speech and Language Connection

Jonathan Hirte ’08
Washington, DC
Legislative Director
Office of Congressman Tim Walberg

Jim Jenkins ’87
Everett, Wash.
Principal Program Manager

Casey Kuperus ’97
Grand Rapids, Mich.
Search and Contract Specialist
Express Employment Professionals

Rosanne Lopers-Sweetman
Toronto, Ont.
Chief Administrative Officer – Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
University of Toronto

Gene Miyamoto ’77
Holland, Mich.
Chief Operating Officer
Agility Health

Christine Jacobs Mouw ’88
North Little Rock, Ark.
Supervisory Museum Curator
William J. Clinton Presidential Library

Nate Plantinga ’94
Grand Rapids, Mich.
Miller Johnson

Jeff Pyun ’93
Clarksville, Tenn.
Military Chaplain
U.S. Army

Brianna Sas-Pérez
Milwaukee, Wis.
Neighborhood Plan Director
Layton Boulevard West Neighbors

Valerie Stegink Sterk ’83
Santa Clara, Calif.
Sunnyvale Presbyterian Church

David Tannor ’06
Grand Rapids, Mich.
Program Director of Math and Science
Baker College Online & Center of Graduate Studies

Cathy Van Zeelt Van Donselaar ’88
Centennial, Colo.
Elementary Learning Specialist
Front Range Christian School

David Vellenga ’60
Oro Valley, Ariz.
Retired Professor of Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Arizona State University

Lisa Kuyers Zylstra ’80
Lombard, Ill.
Administrative Assistant
Timothy Christian Schools