Abraham Kuyper Prize for Excellence in Reformed Theology and Public Life

Sid Jansma Jr

The Kuyper Prize, established in 1998 and named after Dutch theologian Abraham Kuyper, is awarded each year to a scholar or community leader whose outstanding contribution to their chosen sphere reflects the ideas and values characteristic of the Neo-Calvinist vision of religious engagement in matters of social, political, and cultural significance in one or more of the ‘spheres’ of society. The prize and an annual conference focused on Kuyper's enduring legacy are funded thanks to a generous grant from the late Rimmer and Ruth De Vries.

Kuyper Prize Recipients

  • 2024: Sid Jansma Jr. (pictured above) is an influential leader in industry and in business, serving for more than 40 years as leader and CEO of Wolverine Gas and Oil Corporation, and currently as its chairman of the board. Over the years he has been chairman of the Michigan Oil and Gas Association and founding chairman of its Political Action Committee; chairman of the Independent Petroleum Association of America’s Tax Committee; chairman of the Environment and Safety Committee; on the board of directors of the American Petroleum Institute; and a lobbyist in Washington D.C. on numerous occasions. Jansma Jr. remains vitally interested in politics. He is also heavily engaged with the local Church and various philanthropic activities locally and internationally. The words of Deuteronomy 8:18 have been foundational to Jansma Jr., “But remember the LORD your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth.” Learn more.
  • 2023: Makoto Fujimura, a world-renowned modern artist, author and speaker, and founder of the International Arts Movement and the Fujimura Institute whose artistic work expounds on, popularizes, and builds upon Kuyperian theology. Read more about Fujimura's work and the prize.
  • 2022: Ruth Padilla DeBorst, a theologian, missiologist, educator, and storyteller, doing important work in theological and missional leadership development in Latin America. Read more about Dr. Padilla DeBorst's wide-ranging work.
  • 2021: Rachael Denhollander, a leading voice on the topic of sexual abuse was recognized for her work as an attorney, author, advocate, and educator. Read more about Ms. Denhollander's important work and accomplishments.
  • 2020: David Brooks, a longtime New York Times op-ed columnist who writes about politics, culture, and the social sciences. Read more about Mr. Brooks' receipt of the prize.
  • 2019: Dr. John M. Perkins, one of the leading evangelical voices to come out of the Civil Rights Movement. Read more about Dr. Perkins' scholarship and achievements.
  • 2018: Daniel Bourdanné, general secretary of the International Fellowship of Evangelical Students (IFES). Read more about Bourdanné’s work and ministry.