How to apply for scholarships

The application forms for named scholarships are available every year beginning January 1. Incoming students have a deadline date of February 1.  Current students have a deadline date of March 1. All of the scholarships for current students are available onlineAll current students who will be enrolled next academic year are encouraged to apply.

John De Bie History Scholarship $1,200 JR 2.75
Sally and Bert deVries Archeology Scholarship varies SO/JR/SR 2.50
Reverend Bernard Haven Memorial Scholarship $2,300 FR 3.00
Peter D. Hoekstra Scholarship $2,000 FR 2.50
Alan and Jan Pauw Family Scholarship $2,600 JR/SR 3.00
Earl Strikwerda Memorial Scholarship $1,400 SR 2.50
Edwin J. and Elaine F. Van Kley History Scholarship $1,000 JR/SR 3.20
Martin P. and Florence DeGraaff Wiebenga Scholarship $1,500 SO/JR/SR 3.00
Dr. Bernard Zylstra, S.J.D., Memorial Scholarship $4,000 JR/SR 3.00

Awards & Prizes

De Bie Essay Prize

The history department also awards a John De Bie Essay Prize each year for the best History paper. You do not have to be a history major to enter. The paper can be on any topic related to history, and essays written for Calvin courses are welcome. The 2015 award was $100.

To apply, you must submit a copy of your essay (with your name removed from all pages) and attach a cover sheet. You may submit your paper to the department office (HH 481), or via email to

Submissions for the 2016 prize are due Friday, April 15 by 5 PM.

Hoekstra Senior Prize

The history department also awards a Peter D. Hoekstra Senior Prize each year. One prize of $750 was awarded in 2015. The department faculty chooses recipients for this prize, so there is no application.