Along with the basic quality and affordability of our program, we are proud to offer four named scholarships to students who have been accepted into one of the degree-seeking programs.

How to apply for scholarships

The application forms for named scholarships are available every year beginning December 1 and must be submitted by February 1. All of the scholarships for both prospective, first year students and current students are available online. All students who will be enrolled next academic year are encouraged to apply.

Dykstra, Art and Marilyn Scholarship $1,300 GR 2.50
Huizenga, Mary Louise Scholarship $1,600 GR 2.50
Kass, Corrine E. Graduate Studies Scholarship $1,500 GR 3.30
VanDenBosch, Fred and Carol Scholarship $1,000 GR 2.50

Additional Student Awards

The following scholarships are not administered by Calvin College, but are relevant to graduate study at Calvin College and may be applied to study in our program. For these scholarships please apply directly to the granting organization as indicated in each case below.

Guy D. and Mary Edith Halladay Graduate Scholarship

These grants are available for students undertaking postgraduate courses in a field of their choice at colleges in Michigan. Applicants must have been residents of Kent County for a minimum of five years, have a minimum 3.0 college grade point average, and demonstrate financial need.

Roy Johnson Trust Scholarships

Any blind person, regardless of sex, race, color, religion, or age, who has received a bachelor's degree from an accredited college in the United States, is eligible for consideration for grants from this trust. Factors taken into account in considering applicants include their financial condition and scholastic record. Other considerations include recommendations from college faculty and officials and the applicants' intended use of their post-graduate college education. Funds must be used to pursue graduate studies in law, education, science, music and other disciplines in an accredited college in the State of Michigan. Grants are made for tuition, housing, or reader services.

Dorothy J. Thurston Scholarship

These grants are available for full- or part-time students pursuing graduate-level study (Master's M.D., Ph.D.) at the accredited university of their choice in Michigan. Applicants must demonstrate financial need, have a minimum 3.0 cumulative college grade point average and must have been Kent County residents for a minimum of two years (at time of application or prior to the beginning of their undergraduate education). The scholarship is renewable, provided the student maintains a 3.0 grade point average and there is continued financial need. Apply through The Grand Rapids Foundation office, 209-C Waters Building, 161 Ottawa NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503